"For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline." ~ 2 Timothy 1:7
Showing posts with label music. Show all posts
Showing posts with label music. Show all posts
May 28, 2011
LAZY UPDATE #10
Sorry for not updating for a long time. Blogger was down for a a couple of days before and this week has been so. freaking. BUSY. Like, really really busy. But many exciting things have happened as well, and I am excited to write about them! It's been so long since I wrote my last post so I'm not going chronologically. I'm just going to state the exciting things which happened during the last two weeks.
Firstly, I went bowling with my volleyball team last Saturday near our church. I haven't been bowling in a long time, but I thought I was still pretty good at it. Unfortunately, pride always comes before fall and I ended up being the ultimate loser amongst the whole group. My scores were 32 and 41 - don't laugh. But it was still a really fun night! I always appreciate the time I have with my volleyball team because it's a chance for me to practise my Korean.
We also went to Lotteria afterwards to eat 팥빙수 patbingsoo (shaved ice and other condiments). It was the rule of the game - whichever team lost had to treat the other team to dessert. My team lost spectacularly to the other team - they had the two best players out of the whole team (no...not a sore loser. Honest! hehe) - so we bought the ice as well as some chips and ice-cream.
Another exciting which happened this week was my university's festival! It was called LUCAUS (can't remember what it stands for) and it went for three days. There were lots of booths around the campus selling things like beer, fruit, t-shirts and other things. Unfortunately I didn't get to take any photos of the booths since I was normally rushing to class when I saw them. But I did take photos of the most important part of the festival: the concerts at night time.
We had a lot of celebrities come for the night concerts like 김태우 Kim Tae Woo and No Brain, but the biggest and most popular star which came was 2NE1. I just thought I'd bolden that word in case you missed it. They're not the first celebrities I've seen since I came to Seoul, but definitely the ones which the most people know about it.
The night concerts were really loud. Each night I could hear it from my room in the dormitory, since the events are held in the sports ground right downstairs, but I attended the last one in person. The atmosphere is pretty much like a real-live concert, with glowsticks and people jumping up and down to the songs. After the concert a lot of people go drinking, but I didn't.
I also dyed my hair for the very first time this week. One of the people I sing with at church is a hairdresser, and he came highly recommended amongst my church friends, so I went to him in Gangnam. I will be honest, as usual, and say that the colour which it turned out to be isn't what I wanted. I actually wanted a dark red/purple colour and fully dye all of my hair, but right now it's highlighted red and gold. It looks nice, but whenever I don't get what I was expecting in my mind I get a little iffy. Maybe I'll change it later on, but I think I have to learn how to be patient with myself.
Labels:
celebrities,
Chung Ang University,
events,
Korea exchange,
lazy update,
music
January 24, 2011
BLACK SWAN & OTHER RANDOM THINGS WHICH COME TO MIND
I watched Black Swan today. It was amazing. I now understand why Natalie Portman won her Golden Globe and really hopes she wins the Oscar as well. She was incredible as Nina, the mentally tormented ballerina who only wants to be perfect as the new Swan Queen. I've always liked Natalie Portman as an actress. She seems to be someone who is dedicated to becoming an actress, and not a celebrity, which is sadly becoming more and more common these days. I admire people who treat acting with respect and dignity, rather than people dabbling in a role because they 'felt like something new' or because their old career isn't flourishing and needs some spice. Anyway, the movie itself was quite chilling. When I walked out of the theatre at the end of the movie, I was stunned and my mind was completely blank. I must admit that I'm not a fan of scary, thriller or horror movies, so this one was pushing it already. Having said that, I'm glad I watched it. The little bits of humour threaded throughout the movie were definitely appreciated, and I think Mila Kunis did quite a good job as the supporting actress, even though I thought she had a bigger role.
Onto the other random things, which is pretty much what I like in music at the moment. Last night I listened to One Way's Rainy Days full album and almost fell completely in love with it. The only complaint that I have is that they swear in their songs. I have never understood WHY people feel the need to use that kind of language in their songs. I think it's because I'm a Christian, so I'm particularly sensitive to these issues, but I don't find it 'cool' or 'gangsta'-ish at all. It just sounds really uneducated and rude. Anyway, besides that, I like their music. It's relaxing to listen to and very different to the typical K-pop I normally listen to. I'm also liking G.NA's Black and White album. It's pop-py, which I am not ashamed to admit to liking, and it's upbeat.
Oh, and I cut my hair today. It's short now. :)
Onto the other random things, which is pretty much what I like in music at the moment. Last night I listened to One Way's Rainy Days full album and almost fell completely in love with it. The only complaint that I have is that they swear in their songs. I have never understood WHY people feel the need to use that kind of language in their songs. I think it's because I'm a Christian, so I'm particularly sensitive to these issues, but I don't find it 'cool' or 'gangsta'-ish at all. It just sounds really uneducated and rude. Anyway, besides that, I like their music. It's relaxing to listen to and very different to the typical K-pop I normally listen to. I'm also liking G.NA's Black and White album. It's pop-py, which I am not ashamed to admit to liking, and it's upbeat.
Oh, and I cut my hair today. It's short now. :)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)




